Get to know our Founder

Kid In Development Services founder and director,
Deneen Middleton, is a certified teacher with a dual undergraduate degree in Deaf Education/Special Education (ages birth through 21) and Elementary Education from Converse College in Spartanburg, South Carolina.  She worked as a Preschool Special Education teacher (ages three through six), Early Intervention Infant/Toddler case manager (ages birth through three), and Deaf Educator (ages three through ten) in Maryland state schools for 13 years.  After completing post-graduate study in family-centered early intervention at Gallaudet University in Washington, DC, Deneen returned to South Carolina to continue her work as a Deaf Educator and also as an Early Literacy Coordinator with SC First Steps. She has most recently worked at the SC School for the Deaf and the Blind as an Early Interventionist (providing direct services to families) and a Regional Services Coordinator (supervisor to other early interventionists).

Deneen has devoted her entire career, over 20 years, to providing services to children and families.  She has developed and conducted training workshops in the areas of Early Intervention/Part C Services, Family-Centered Early Intervention, Hearing Loss in Infants and Toddlers, and Promoting Early Communication and Language Development with Children who are Deaf/Hard of Hearing.

What We Do- 
Provide you with educational information about your infant's/toddler's developmental milestones. 
Work with you and your family in your infant's/toddler's natural environment (ex: home, daycare, grandma's house)
Support you and your family with fun strategies and activities to use throughout your infant/toddler's everyday routines (ex: bathtime, mealtime, playtime)
Assist you in locating, accessing, and utilizing other available resources in your local community, state, and/or nationwide. 
Facilitate the development of an Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP)  that will lay out what your priorities are for your infant/toddler and your family.
Coordinate with your medical home (your infant/toddler's pediatrician and other medical providers)

 

What We Provide-
Service Coordination (case management)
Special Instruction (fun activities for you to try during your family's regular, daily routine)
Developmental-behavioral screening
Comprehensive developmental assessment (all domains)
Referrals to other services(ex. physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language therapy, ABA therapy for autism spectrum disorder)
IFSP Development
Flexible scheduling
Transition support (to help you make the move from early intervention to other programs like Head Start, daycare, or public school)

Hi! My name is Alexa Roberts.
I'm originally from New Jersey and moved to Charleston almost 7 years ago to attend the College of Charleston. I have a Bachelors in Early Childhood Education and received my Masters of Education in 2018. Throughout graduate school, I concentrated in Diverse Learners, expanding my knowledge of English Speakers of Other Languages, Gifted and Talented, and Special Education. I am a certified teacher and have held a variety of childcare and teaching positions over the past 10 years. 

I am passionate about early intervention because I get to see how families use the strategies provided to make big differences in their children's lives. In my spare time, I enjoy running and spending time with my cat and boyfriend!

Alexa Roberts

Hi, my name is Chrystal Morris. I have a Master of Arts in Counseling with a focus on Family and Child therapy. I have worked with children and families for over 10 years and it is truly my passion! I have worked with state, local and non-profit organizations developing parent programs and advocating for parents and their children. I enjoy working with families to help them understand their needs and the needs of their child(ren). I have 3 children, ages 21, 15 and 11 and I know firsthand the joys and struggles of being a parent. 


In my spare time, I enjoy going to the beach and cooking. I am so happy to be a part of the Kid In Development Services team as a Early Intervention Service Coordinator covering Horry and Florence counties! Together we can help your family be happy and healthy!!! 

Chrystal Morris

Hello, my name is Lori Fink. I am a wife, mother of three grown children, currently have four grandchildren, and several fur babies. Since we love the warm weather and beach, my husband and I located from PA to Myrtle Beach! I received my Bachelor of Education in Recreation with emphasis in Therapeutic Recreation. My Master of Science is in Program Coordination - Special Education. I have always wanted to work/help others.... I love holding babies, playing with toddlers and watching them flourish and growth to their fullest potential!  My professional career consists of over 30+ years of working with children, adolescents and adults with special needs in the home, daycare/centers, rehabilitation hospital or school.  
On a personal basis, I love the beach and community events, gardening/flowers, cross stitching, biking, and being with my family whenever possible!!!

Lori Fink

Hey y’all!  My name is Lyvonnia Jaki Hyche and I was born In Tuscaloosa, Alabama on July 4 (a Bicentennial Baby!). Twelve years ago, we got stationed at Joint Base Charleston due to my husband being in the Air Force. My husband is now retired and we decided to make Charleston our home. I have a Bachelor’s in Early Childhood Education and was the owner of a Nationally Accredited family child care home for 14 years with the Air Force. I held National Accreditation through NAFCC for 12 years and obtained my Child Development Associates (CDA) in Infant/toddler development.  I also ran the Teddy Child Watch program at the clinic on Joint Base Charleston. I have worked with children for over 25 years in private child care centers, military child care facilities, youth programs, after school programs, camps, amusement parks, and my own business! I applied to K.I.D.S., have been here for 3 years now, and I have been BLESSED beyond measure to be able to work with special needs children and their families! Working here at K.I.D.S. is very rewarding! When I am having a bad day being able to visit the children that I work with helps to turn my frowns upside down. Being able to see the smiles on the faces of infants and toddlers I work with is priceless and I always look forward to seeing them thrive in their environment! Helping families, assisting infants and toddlers overcome delays, being that listening ear for parents, and helping families celebrate achievements warms my heart! 

I have been happily married to my husband Dedrick for 20 years. We have three daughters- Jordyn, Danyale, and DeJai. We have two fur-babies Bishop and Chino.  My hobbies include making t-shirts, crafting, shopping for craft supplies and making cool things for my EI babies. 
 

Lyvonnia Jaki Hyche

My bio is coming soon

 

Rhonda Dougherty

My bio is coming soon

 

Misty Bryant

Hello! My name is Amanda Bishop. I’m originally from Greensboro, NC. After I graduated from Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, NC, my husband and I moved to Charleston, SC. I have always enjoyed younger children. While earning my B.S. in Birth to Kindergarten from WCU, I worked at a 4 star child development center part time. It was there I fell head over heals in love with a 2-year-old little boy with autism. We hit it off and I was assigned as his “one-on-one.” I worked with his early interventionist and learned a lot about early intervention. At that point, I found my passion! I ended up picking up a minor in Special Education along with my child development major. It was in Charleston that I learned about ABA therapy. While searching for an Early Interventionist position, I ended up working as a lead ABA therapist for about 4 years. Within my last year as an ABA therapist, I found Kid In Development Services. Immediately I knew that Deneen Middleton and I shared the same passion and values, and I have been an EI with K.I.D.S. for almost 9 years now! Though I absolutely love working with *all* children and their families, there is a special place in my heart for children with autism. I enjoy problem solving behaviors and teaching families how to help their babies cope and be comfortable in the world around them. 
    
In my spare time, I enjoy spending time with my husband Matt and our beautiful daughter, Zoe. We love hockey and spend a lot of time at the Stingrays games and the Edisto Island Serpentarium. We love animals, especially reptiles! We currently have 4 turtles, 2 cats, and a 5 1/2 ft. green iguana that we raised from a tiny hatchling. 
    
I absolutely LOVE my career and would never change what I do! I’m looking forward to working with you and your beautiful babies! 

Amanda Bishop

Hi, I'm Halley Hixson! I was born and raised in Texas, moved to NC and then hopped down to Goose Creek, SC about 5 years ago. I served six years in the US Navy and after I got out I received my Bachelors in Child and Family Development and a Masters in Education. I have been working with children under three since I graduated from college in 2012 and I have been blessed to get to know so many families during that time. When my son was born, he had delays in speech and several other areas.  I ended up getting my degree to help me understand his developmental process so I could figure out how to help him. Eventually, he was diagnosed with Autism at age three and it was a huge relief to finally have a name to what made him so unique. It is my personal experience with my own children that made me become passionate about early intervention and the importance it serves to help children get on the right track. In my free time, I enjoy gardening, cross stitching, spending time with my family and playing with my two dogs and two cats.  I can't wait to meet you and your family!  

Haley Hixson

My bio is coming soon

 

Lasonya Williams-Johnson

Hi! My name is Janele Bryant and I am the Office Manager for Kid in Development Services. 

I was born in New York, but have lived in South Carolina for most of my life. I am married with four wonderful children.  Three of them are grown and I have a firecracker 12 year old.

I have a background in administration, medical assisting and medical coding and enjoy all aspects of organizational support and office management. I always strive to operate in a state of excellence! I have been with KIDS for 7 years and I absolutely love working with everyone at KIDS!  This is a company that cares about the families we serve and about the family that we have become here at KIDS.  It is a *wonderful* thing to enjoy your job!!

In my free time, I LOVE to craft! It is my place of Zen. I can get lost for the entire day crafting. One of my greatest joys is sharing the things that I craft with others. It makes me happy to see others happy.

 

Janele Bryant

My bio is coming soon

 

Mary Barkley

My bio is coming soon

 

Hope Smith

 

To find out how to get a developmental screening at no cost to you, call KIDS today!

What are you waiting for?

Call Ms Deneen today!! 843-329-6993

© 2020 Kids in Development Services All Rights Reserved Powered by Mobyle

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Facebook Icon